A Travellerspoint blog

General Routine

Monday-Friday except Wednesday:
Get up, spend from 6.30am - 7.15am waking the kids and breakfast. Should be plenty of time but Amarine can take up to 15 mins to wake up and get her out of bed and ’alive’ and another 10-15mins to get dressed, and I have to be by her side most of the time, and Antonin’s too, telling them to hurry up “dépêche, dépêche.” Then breakfast can be tiring enough depending on their mood, if they decide they don’t feel like eating what’s on offer, and if they start to irritate each other. Get in the car.

7.20am to 8.20am: Drive to schools in Chalon and back to house (20-25 min each way). If we leave any later we catch the traffic getting into Chalon.

I usually just have a quick green tea and bits of fruit before the school run then eat something proper when I get back. Maybe go for walk if weather permits and I have time. Do stuff, and I’m never short of something. Apart from my own uni work or French learning there’s always a dishwasher to load/unload, washing to fold or something. If Nadine and/or Frederic are coming home for lunch they will come just after 12, for around an hour. So far they’ve only come back once so I haven’t had to prepare anything, only whatever I want to eat.

Afternoon clear up lunch, whatever I didn’t do in the morning. Make sure there’s something to take for the kids afternoon snack when I pick them up.
4.15pm drive back to Chalon, park on street outside Antonin’s school, walk over to next street to collect Amarine and then back to the car to wait for Antonin who’s out by about 5pm.
Drive to N & F’s company in Lux (just outside Chalon, on way home). Kids sit down to do homework, I help if I can or Nadine helps. If they are really busy Marie will meet us their so she can help.
Hopefully leave before 6.30 to get home, kids shower and something to eat. Ideally finished eating 7.15pm, teeth and in bed by 7.45. That is yet to happen.

If N & F don’t get home early enough for dinner with kids they can arrive anytime between 7.30 and 9pm. Depending how late they think they’ll be I either eat with kids or wait for them.

Wednesday Amarine has no school, Nadine picks Antonin up and they come home for lunch, then Nadine back to work and I have kids for the arvo. Friday arvo Antonin finishes earlier, at 4.30, then we wait for Amarine and go back to Marie’s place for their snack, then I drop Antonin at Judo in Chalon and go straight home with Amarine.

Saturday and Sunday are technically free days for me, I’m not obliged to be around and do things but if I’m home I help. Some time on Saturdays will be used for Nadine teaching me French, and so far the ‘lunchtimes’ have been organised, a-few-hours affairs taking up half the arvo. On either day we’ll usually do something or go somewhere, that’s interesting for them, me and to entertain the kids.

I will be doing some cleaning, there’s no set amount to be done, it’s just ‘as necessary.’ The kids are old enough to keep their own area’s tidy (with someone standing over them) so my main things will be vacuuming and wiping over the bathrooms and kitchen when they’re starting look grotty. I think a couple of hours twice a week will take care of everything.

Posted by Madeline84 09:10 Archived in France Tagged routine

Table of contents

Be the first to comment on this entry.

Comments on this blog entry are now closed to non-Travellerspoint members. You can still leave a comment if you are a member of Travellerspoint.

Enter your Travellerspoint login details below

( What's this? )

If you aren't a member of Travellerspoint yet, you can join for free.

Join Travellerspoint